washing machine
Budget

Budget Saving Homemade Laundry Detergent Recipe

Here’s the recipe that I mentioned in my post on budget saving tips (https://thefixitdiva.wordpress.com/2014/07/08/budgeting-tips-easy-ways-to-save/). I found the printed out recipes and had forgotten that I took 3 recipes and blended them/modified them into my own version…no surprise there since I didn’t want to use regular Oxi-Clean and wanted to review the ingredients on the Environmental Working Groups website (http://www.ewg.org) to see what other alternative ingredients I could use.

With that said, here is the recipe I made:

Ingredients:

1 Box of Super Washing Soda (3lb 7oz) (EWG ranking of “A” for least toxic)

1 Box of Borax (4 lbs. 12oz) (EWG ranking of “F”. With that said, I did some online research and I came to the conclusion that Borax shouldn’t be an “F”. Here’s a great article that provides more information / clarification: http://www.crunchybetty.com/getting-to-the-bottom-of-borax-is-it-safe-or-not. I chose to stick with Borax.)

1 Box of Pure Baking Soda (4lb) (EWG ranking of “A”)

3 Bars of Kirk’s Castile Soap (EWG ranking for Castile of “A”)

½ container of Oxi-Clean Versatile Stain Remover Free (container is 1.3 lbs.) (EWG ranking of “B” vs the recipe I referred to used regular Oxi-Clean Stain Remover, which has an EWG ranking of “F”. I also used only half of the container – the recipe I found called for the entire container.)

Steps to Make Your Own Laundry Detergent:

  1. Grate your soap in a food processor until finally grated. If you don’t have a food processor with grating blade, hand grate the soap as fine as you can using a hand grater. WARNING: thank goodness this is soap because it gets messy in the food processor – easy cleanup though with warm water.
  2. Using a plastic tote bin, line it with a trash bag and pour all the ingredients into the container.
  3. Using rubber gloves and face mask (for dust), mix by hand until well blended.
  4. Once blended, put the mixture into a storage container for your use. I used a large cat food plastic pitcher (holds 8 lb. bag of dry cat food – here’s what it looks like http://www.organizeit.com/buddeez-bag-in-pet-food-containers.asp)
  5. I took two empty and clean glass jars with lids – in one I put some of the laundry detergent blend; the other jar is for mixing 1 tablespoon of the detergent with about ¼ cup of warm water, closing lid and swishing around before pouring into washing machine. This helps breakdown the castile soap chunks.

This recipe filled the cat food container to the top. My cost per load of laundry is $.10 – that’s TEN CENTS! So far, our clothes come out clean, no nasty smells from ingredients (some people do add some essential oil drops for scent but I don’t care for doing that). Swishing it around with warm water hasn’t caused any issues with our washing machine either.

I hope you like this recipe! Let me know if you try it and how it turned out for you.

Standard

Leave a Reply

